Such Tv Arabic
12 December 2017 Last updated 6 hours ago

PCB names members of tribunal formed to adjudicate spot-fixing scandal

Pakistan Cricket Board Pakistan Cricket Board

Three members of the Anti-Corruption Tribunal set up by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) tasked with adjudicating the spot-fixing matter submitted their respective consents on Friday, March 17, said a statement issued on Monday.

According to details, the members of the tribunal were sent the appointment notifications last week after the two accused players Khalid Latif and Sharjeel Khan formally informed the PCB that they would contest the charges framed against them.

The tribunal comprises Justice (retd) Asghar Haider (Chairman), Lt Gen (retd) Tauqir Zia (Member) and former test player and team manager Wasim Bari (Member).

Had the convicted players admitted their guilt the matter would have been referred to the Chairman of PCB’s Disciplinary Panel, who would have simply determined the imposition of sanctions on the two players.

The tribunal will now issue notices for a preliminary hearing to both PCB and the players, as per the prescribed procedure. At the preliminary hearing future procedure and dates of hearings will be decided.

Last month PCB had provisionally suspended two players — Sharjeel Khan and Khalid Latif — under its Anti-Corruption Code as part of an investigation into an international syndicate which was believed to be attempting to corrupt the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Both batsmen were handed charge sheets a week after they were sent home for the PSL event held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

The Anti-Corruption Unit (ACU) ended up issuing notices of charge to a total of cricketers — batsmen Nasir Jamshed, Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Irfan, and opener Shahzaib Hasan — in the PSL spot-fixing inquiry.