• Shehbaz Sharif Elected PML-N President

    • Last modified on
    • Published in General
    PML-N CEC Meeting To Elect New President Today File photo PML-N CEC Meeting To Elect New President Today

    Chief Minister Punjab and Interim PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif is elected unopposed as the president of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.

    The nomination papers for the party president were accepted today at 9:00 AM and other than Shehbaz Sharif, no other candidate submitted his papers. The papers of Shehbaz Sharif was proposed by members from all four provinces.The formal announcement for his election would be made in the central general council meeting summoned today and would be attend by the lifetime quaid of the PML-N Nawaz Sharif.

    The meeting will also be attended by representatives of PML-N from all four provinces, Islamabad Capital Territory, Azad Jammu and Kashmir and Gilgit Baltistan.

    The post fall vacant after the court disqualify Nawaz Sharif.

    The Supreme Court of Pakistan on February 21 announced its verdict on petitions challenging the Elections Act 2017, ruling that a person disqualified under Article 62 and 63 cannot serve as the head of a political party.
    The decision by the three-member bench headed by Chief Justice Saqib Nisar is considered another blow to the ruling Pakistan Muslim League–Nawaz (PML-N) as Nawaz Sharif will no longer remain the party’s president. As a result of the verdict, all decisions taken by Nawaz Sharif as PML-N’s president stand null and void.

    install suchtv android app on google app store